Avengers: Endgame (2019)

A final farewell to fan favorites.

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

--

Courtesy of Marvel Studios

If I could sum up Endgame in one word, it would be nostalgia. The entire film was built upon the bedrock of fans remembering characters and all they walked through in the previous films. After more than a decade, it only makes sense that they would want to use this to their advantage in the final film in this version of the MCU.

While watching, I couldn’t help but compare this to Ready Player One, Spielberg’s nostalgia-riddled adventure that impressed many fans and critics in 2018. Except, I didn’t like Ready Player One. I felt overstimulated by the sheer number of things happening on the screen and often had to close my eyes or look away so I could get a break. More than anything else, I felt as though my nostalgia was being used against me. I walked away from that film thinking that I was supposed to have liked it because of the myriad references contained therein.

Though I was constantly comparing the two films with each other, I didn’t feel like my nostalgia was used against me in Endgame.

Nostalgia for nostalgia’s sake can fall flat.
Nostalgia with a purpose can be incredibly effective.

The intentional revisiting of The Avengers, Thor: The Dark World, and Guardians of the

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.