Greyhound (2020)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
5 min readJul 14, 2020

--

America’s dad having a horrible day at work.

Greyhound movie poster

Greyhound follows a Navy captain as he leads a convoy of ships as they make their way across the Atlantic. Of course, along the way, this group of ships encounters a Nazi U-boat Wolfpack. The events in this film are the exact opposite of “smooth sailing.”

I will be the first to admit that I know nothing about sailing and I know even less about sailing technology and techniques of the 1940s. The vast majority of the film is just men yelling random commands at each other, hurling numbers that mean something to someone, unfortunately, that someone is not me. They would see something on a hazy screen or through binoculars and jump quickly into action, scurrying about the closed quarters with impressive speed. All the while, I would still be confused about what they might have seen.

Yet, despite my utter lack of knowledge of anything they were saying, thanks to body language and tone, I got the gist of what was happening moment by moment. I think this confusing and constant call and response was pretty brilliant in keeping every scene packed with tension. The rapidity of the crew’s movements in tight quarters and their rapid-fire communication kept the sense of urgency at the forefront of my mind.

Even though the rhythm of the dialogue was brilliant for building tension, I think this movie was far…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.