Hamilton (2020)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
4 min readJul 11, 2020

--

History has its eyes on you…

Hamilton movie poster

I was a little late to the Hamilton obsession. I only started listening to the soundtrack on repeat about two years ago, long after the original cast had left the show. But that didn’t stop me from steeping myself in the creative songs, the tongue-twisting lyrics, and the immense passion of the performers. When I learned that Hamilton was going to be released on Disney+, I was cautiously optimistic. I don’t trust Disney, but I trust Lin-Manuel Miranda, so I crossed my fingers and dove in.

And Hamilton was an absolute joy to watch.

Often, my biggest complaint about the film versions of musicals is that it’s not the original cast, which means that it’s never as good. For many Hollywood adaptations, they hire actors who can sing (or kind of sing), but it’s just not the same. But because Hamilton was filmed live, with the original cast, we got a taste of the thrill of going to the theater without having to leave our homes. Granted, there’s something special about seeing a musical or play in person that a film can’t replicate, but during a time when theaters are closed, this was a welcomed treat.

The performers in Hamilton are excellent and reminded me why I love live theater so much. I plan on watching this again just for Daveed Diggs alone, who looked like he was having the time of his life on stage. Leslie Odom…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.