I Have Mixed Feelings About ‘The Matrix Resurrections’

It’s a ton of fun, but the ending left me feeling empty.

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

--

The Matrix Resurrections movie poster | Warner Bros.
The Matrix Resurrections movie poster | Warner Bros.

The Matrix franchise is wonderfully exciting. Even its flaws are endearing and have left a lasting mark on many of us. Each of these movies has something interesting to say about humanity, technology, and how we live our lives. The films courageously tackle complex topics and are unafraid to swing for the fences whenever possible.

When I learned that there would be a fourth film about 20 years after the franchise began, I was elated. I felt like a kid in a candy shop, about to revisit characters that I grew up watching and reenter a world that immediately gripped my imagination.

I have to say that I thoroughly loved about 90% of this film. I was hooked into the story and, honestly, just happy to be spending time with these characters in a new light, facing new situations. I loved seeing Neo (Keanu Reeves) and Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) back at it again. I was also really impressed by the film’s ability to introduce us to new characters who fit seamlessly into the world. In particular, Jessica Henwick as Bugs was a wonderful addition. Honestly, I would be happy to see a 10-episode series about her and her crew.

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.