Lady Macbeth (2016)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
5 min readApr 14, 2020

--

A film about the dualities of life.

Lady Macbeth movie poster

A few weeks ago, while I was mindlessly scrolling through Twitter, I saw an image of Florence Pugh in 19th-century attire with a caption that mentioned that a film of hers was on Hulu. I don’t remember who posted this or what their exact message was, but I got the gist: there is a good movie with Florence in it on Hulu — watch now.

Once I found the film, I was smitten by it almost immediately. This is a quiet film filled with wide shots and few cuts away. Especially at the beginning of Lady Macbeth, there is little dialogue, so we must rely purely on the physical reactions of the characters to explain the story to us. There were so many moments where I was able to connect with Florence based on how she poured her tea, or scrunched her nose, or shrugged her shoulder. Though this is probably the fewest words I’ve heard her speak in a film, I was overwhelmed by her presence and couldn’t take my eyes off of her.

The characters are complex and beautifully realized by the actors. The set is stunning and the way this is filmed only enhances the natural beauty of the English countryside. Though it is set in the 19th century, this film also has a lot to say about humanity itself and how we interact with others. It’s a more nuanced film than I expected, and it’s definitely worth watching. If you haven’t seen Lady Macbeth, I…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.