Little Women (2019)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

A movie that matters.

Little Women movie poster

I have never read Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women nor have I seen other adaptations of Little Women that have been produced over the years. When I heard that there was going to be yet another Little Women adaptation, I didn’t understand why it was necessary. There have been so many iterations over the years and this story has been told so many times, why do we need another? And, as you can imagine, I wasn’t planning on seeing this film but, because it was nominated for six Oscars, we had to see it and review it on The Strategic Whimsy Experiment.

And I’m glad that I saw it.

I didn’t think that a film set in the 1800s, based on a book that was published in 1868 and 1869, would be important or relatable today. I thought the classic text would feel stale and outdated. And while I knew that Alcott wrote often about her view on society and how women were treated, I didn’t know how much of that would translate onto the screen. More than that, I doubted its ability to truly resonate with the audience. But it did.

The women that we follow through the story all have different ambitions that they express in different ways. They are interesting and all infuriating in their own ways, just like we are. The characters are complex and three-dimensional, each one showing a depth and strength in their own unique way. Even…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.