Monster (2003)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Not at all what I expected.

Monster movie poster

I remember when Monster first came out. After watching The Italian Job, I was amazed that Charlize Theron had transformed herself in such a dramatic fashion. While I had been impressed with her willingness to take on a role like this, I had never gotten around to actually seeing the film. And I’m glad that I waited so many years before actually watching it. I’m not sure that I would’ve been able to appreciate the film’s dedication and care to the story had I seen it when it first came out in 2003.

Monster tells the story of Aileen Wuornos, America’s first female serial killer. While films about serial killers are common these days, this one is incredibly unique. The focus is not on the blood or the violence, though there is plenty of that. Instead, Aileen’s actions are shown through the lens of a love story, which I did not expect.

It’s obvious that Patty Jenkins used immense care while writing and directing this film. The camera is discerning and intentional not to glorify the violence. We see Aileen murder men, of course, but these scenes are almost boring in the way they’re filmed. We don’t see loads of blood or these men die in an overly dramatic fashion. Instead, we are able to watch Aileen’s face as she commits these murders and her reactions after the crime is over. This film isn’t about the violence or gore but helps us understand…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.