Palm Springs (2020)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
5 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Optimal quarantine viewing.

Palm Springs is best viewed when you know nothing about it. Honestly. If you haven’t watched it yet, stop reading now and go watch it. I’m serious. Go watch it now.

Palm Springs movie poster

I somehow managed to go into Palm Springs knowing nothing about it and I’m so glad that I did. While time loop films aren’t novel today, I really appreciated how all of the different elements of this story came together. It’s part rom-com, part action, part self-discovery, all housed within one single day that they keep living over and over again. The leads have wonderful chemistry together, which made them a joy to watch. And, of course, the writing was brilliant, which is not something I often see in comedies these days.

Perfect Quarantine Viewing

While watching, I kept thinking that this film’s release in the middle of a pandemic, as cases are rising here in the United States, and people are being forced back into their homes is perfect. So many of the emotions that Nyles (Andy Samberg) and Sarah were feeling were what I have felt during my time inside. While I am more fortunate than so many others in the world, I have often felt like what I’m doing inside my home right now is pointless. Every day blurs together — honestly, who even knows what day it is any more or how long we’ve been inside? I have longed to get out of…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.