Plus One (2019)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
4 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Now, this is a rom-com I can support!

Plus One movie poster

Rarely do I find rom-coms funny or entertaining so I typically steer clear of this particular type of film. I have no desire to watch some girl pine for a guy for an hour and a half. For many years, Hollywood has churned out films about a lovestruck girl searching for the perfect guy or a workaholic woman who eventually allows a man to complete her and audiences eat it up. While some of these are fun and enjoyable, they’re just not my thing. I would much rather watch a gritty action movie than a rom-com any day.

There are some rare exceptions to my “no rom-coms” rule and Plus One is one of them.

Plus One feels like it was written by people who I could be friends with. The characters in the film were ones I would want to hang out to make a wedding more fun and enjoyable. There were moments when the characters said things that I’ve actually uttered before, usually to the confusion of my more normal friends. I don’t understand romance or weddings, so I am often the most awkward person in the room at such events.

One of the things I was initially struck by was the film’s efficient use of time. Instead of feeling the need to make us watch all ten of Ben and Alice’s combined weddings over the course of a few months, they strategically give us glimpses…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.