The Gentlemen (2019)

Not the follow-up to Snatch I was hoping for.

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
4 min readMar 7, 2020

--

The Gentlemen movie poster | Credit: STX Entertainment
The Gentlemen movie poster | Credit: STX Entertainment

I was thrilled when I saw the first preview for Guy Ritchie’s latest film, The Gentlemen. I was hoping that this would be like Snatch, a movie that I absolutely adore and have watched many times over the years. And, in a lot of ways, it was similar to Snatch, but for me, it was much more problematic than Ritchie’s previous films about the world of British gangsters.

The style of this film, like every other thing Ritchie creates, was unique, immersive, and something that I just wanted more and more of. The sets and the costumes were so intentional and flamboyant and wonderful. Coach (Colin Farrell) and The Toddlers had custom plaid tracksuits that were somehow both an assault and a delight for the eyes.

But I think that the plot of The Gentlemen is problematic at best. While the film does many creative things with its storytelling that are worth applauding, it isn’t a cinematic experience I want to return to in the future.

I kept finding myself imagining this film taking place decades in the past instead of the modern-day. This could partially be due to the over the top style of the film that all had a very old-world feel. But I think the predominant factor that made it feel like this film was set during another time was how women and people of color were…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.