The Lighthouse (2019)

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us
Published in
4 min readMay 23, 2020

--

A bonkers film that leaves more questions than answers.

The Lighthouse movie poster

Last year, while looking for films to review on The Strategic Whimsy Experiment, The Lighthouse kept catching our eye. The movie poster is beautiful and dark and gloomy. I was instantly intrigued by this piece of art and would be compelled to research it further. When I would see that it was a “horror” film, I would back away from it, not being a huge horror fan.

But, after hearing enough about The Lighthouse and, seeing that it was streaming on Amazon Prime, we decided to review it. And what a roller coaster this particular film is!

I was almost immediately struck by how relatable this film is to our current situation. While some states are reopening and people are beginning to pack into restaurants and bars, I know many people (myself included) who are content to remain indoors. I live alone and have been by myself for nearly two months with very limited interaction with other humans without the use of technology. In mid-March, as I watched other states shut down, I began mentally preparing myself for this long stretch of time in isolation, as I imagine the two characters in The Lighthouse did.

The two men in this film are forced to live and work with each other on a remote New England island in the 1890s. No one else is anywhere near them, no one else inhabits the island…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.