Uncut Gems (2019)

Proof that NYC is too stressful for me.

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

--

Uncut Gems movie poster | Credit: A24
Uncut Gems movie poster | Credit: A24

Josh and Benny Safdie’s latest film, Uncut Gems follows the chaotic life of Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler), a jeweler in the diamond district of New York City, as he tries to juggle his various financial commitments. This story moves at a break-neck pace that won’t let up even for a moment to let you catch your breath. I would imagine that this choice reflects not only the main character’s state of mind, but the pace of the Big Apple in general.

I left the theater feeling absolutely overwhelmed and stressed out. I drove home in silence and spent a few silent moments sitting on my couch, thanking my lucky stars that I live a much calmer life than that of Howard. Watching him make terrible decisions for two hours was just too much for me. But as my general discomfort faded, a deep appreciation for the efficacy of the film ensued.

Through the use of witty, fast-paced dialogue, quick cuts, and not-so-calming synth music, I was transported into a world of diamond peddling and sports gambling that I longed to get out of. They somehow were able to take the frenetic world of NYC, the diamond district, and sports betting and channel it into a film. They specifically went out of their way to add dialogue to many of the scenes in the shop so that we could feel the chaos happening all around these characters…

--

--

Sarah Callen
Movies & Us

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.