Gail Nobles_The InkPost
Movies Unmade
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJun 20, 2015

--

Mykelti Williamson Would Be Great to Play as Otis Redding

Practicing here at Medium has helped broaden my mind about what to write. I have done an article already about Mykelti Williamson on movies unmade blog. I wrote about how I felt about him playing in a bio about Otis Redding. Still, I have more thoughts and have more that I want to say. So I joined blastingnews.com to write another article.

Have you ever looked at your favorite actor and thought that they could portray somebody else? There is a very good actor named Mykelti Williamson. He played the character Benjamin Buford (Bubba) Blue, in the 1994 film, Forrest Gump. I have seen him in the movie Ali as Don King. When I see Mykelti’s face, I see Otis Redding. I believe that he would be the best actor to play the American singer and songwriter.

I do not think it would take much effort to make Mykelti look like Otis Redding. All that he would need is to grow a mustache, and the rest of his look would fall into place. On camera, he would look about Otis Redding’s height and weight. Not only in looks, but I think Mykelti would be able to portray Otis very well through his physical actions.

Sometimes an actor’s actions speak louder than when an actor merely resembles and portrays somebody else. When an actor does not look like the person he is portraying, his mannerisms and actions through acting can. If an actor can mimic the person he is portraying well enough, than the movie can become so interesting that the actor’s looks might not seem to matter to you. It may matter before you see the movie and it’s previews.

Mykelti looks as if he has the looks and the expressional range to depict Otis Redding. I don’t know any other actors that so closely resemble Otis Redding. I believe that there should be a biopic about Otis, and I think Mykelti would make it a box office sensation! People love Otis Redding and his music, and I believe that a biopic should be made, especially as the end of Otis’s life was so tragic.

Otis sung and performed great songs and died in a plane crash. He died at a very young age. Otis died at the age of 26 in 1967. Even though Mykelti is substantially older than that, it wouldn’t make a difference to me. Hollywood knows how to make an actor look younger and older with make-up. Sometimes age is really not all that important. Mykelti is a great actor, and I believe he could play the man from Georgia. Through acting, Mykelti Williamson could bring Otis Redding to life.

--

--