The Children’s Hour (1961) Film Review — Monochrome Monday

Audrey Hepburn and Shirley MacLaine lead an underseen play adaptation powerhouse.

Darren Zouga
Movies with Darren Zouga

--

The Children’s Hour (1961) Credit: United Artists/ MGM

On Monochrome Monday, published one Monday every month, we celebrate all films black-and-white.

I love a good play adaptation. It’s no surprise that just about as long as we’ve been telling stories via the medium of film, we’ve been adapting plays.

However, written with the intention of being performed to a live audience, straight-on, with limited locations, a sharp focus on characters and drama, and featuring dialogue meant to be delivered to the hilt (so it can be heard even in the cheap seats), this translation maybe shouldn’t even work.

In many cases, it doesn’t.

Often play adaptations end up being little more than experimental (because they can) passion/ vanity projects. Musicals aside, the public doesn’t flock to them because they appear inherently un-cinematic.

“If I wanted to see a play, I’d have gone to see a play,” one might say.

When I fall in love with a film, it likely means I’ve fallen in love with its characters. BUT, I admit when I watch a film, I’m often resentful if said film didn’t feel cinematic.

--

--

Darren Zouga
Movies with Darren Zouga

Film and story lover. Writer. Catholic. Happy to be here.