About MovieSliders

moviesliders.com

Rio Weber
moviesliders
3 min readJan 8, 2018

--

This is a project that I’ve wanted to make for a while.
I’ve wanted to create an iOS App just for practice. This seemed like a perfect first project.

Netflix is amazing, truly. I, like so many others enjoy a good Netflix show.

See, I grew up in a family that did not have TV. We had a “TV” but only a VHS player for it. It’s been interesting watching my family slowly evolve into a typical family who enjoys a good TV show.

Anyway, I recently watched the Netflix Series “The OA

AND IT WAS TERRIBLE!

It was so terrible that it inspired me to create this app.
I just felt this need for a way to express my contempt for such an atrocity.

I did suffer through the entire series, but every single episode felt like I was being accosted.

I so deeply wanted a way to express my hatred for this show.
I hated it so much I started passive-aggressively sliding my fingers up and down in the air on imaginary levers that to me represented a slider for how awful it was. I then began sliding my fingers up and down so much that it became an almost subconscious action.

That’s when the idea came to me.

I believe I watched the series a few months ago (Today: 8 January 2018).

And just last week I finished the prototype for the App, and yesterday I wrote my first review using it.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales
Rating: 34 / 100

Full Review: https://medium.com/moviesliders/pirates-of-the-caribbean-dead-men-tell-no-tales-45523ae9469b

After using the app for the first time my first thoughts were that the UI needs some improvement.

This is what it currently looks like:

It’s pretty basic.

The GitHub link is here: https://github.com/riodw/ios.moviesliders
I can not guarantee it will always be public.

For the first review I used only 2 sliders.

Red for Interest
Green for Cliche

The results were pretty interesting.

After watching a few more movies I’ve decided there are a few more areas I want to track. These are all the options I would want.

Interest: Red (#c62928)

Cliche: Green (#01e675)

Funny: Blue (#2ab6f6)

Dumb: Purple (#bd00ff)

WTF: Yellow (#fdff00)

http://www.color-hex.com/color-palette/52880

There is no way to know if these are the right or even appropriate trends.
I also plan on adding the ability to add or disable them.

After publishing my first review I showed it to my friend. His first thought was how similar the concept was to SoundCloud.

While I’ve never used SoundCloud I suppose the concept is similar, but I have no intention of making this a publicly downloadable app. I hate managing users.

--

--