Awakening with Intention

My Sacred Morning Meditation Ritual

Sue Bushell
Moving into Stillness
3 min readJul 7, 2024

--

The hush of dawn holds a special magic for me, a time of quietude and renewal before the world awakens. It’s in these precious morning hours that I engage in my most cherished ritual — meditation — a practice that anchors me in the present moment and sets a harmonious tone for the day ahead.

Photo by József Szabó on Unsplash

My morning begins with a gentle emergence from sleep. Instead of leaping out of bed and immediately reaching for my phone, I linger in the twilight zone between dreams and wakefulness. Rolling onto my back, I allow my breath to deepen and expand as I perform a brief body scan, gently acknowledging any sensations or tensions. This mindful check-in serves as a soft landing into the present moment, fostering a sense of calm and grounding.

Once centered, I rise and tend to my basic needs before making my way to my sacred meditation space. This haven, thoughtfully curated to foster tranquility, is adorned with soft textures, calming scents, and objects that hold personal significance. The flickering glow of a salt lamp and the aromatic tendrils of incense create an ambiance of peace and serenity.

Taking a seat on my meditation cushion, I begin with the resonant vibrations of sacred mantras. These ancient sounds, passed down through generations, awaken my spirit and connect me to a lineage of wisdom.

I then transition into a series of gentle stretches, allowing my body to awaken and release any lingering tension. With each movement, my spine lengthens, my joints loosen, and my breath deepens. I’ve learned that a supple body paves the way for a tranquil mind.

The heart of my practice lies in pranayama, the art of breath control. Through a cyclical pattern of deep inhales and slow, controlled exhales, I anchor myself to the present moment. This rhythmic dance of breath is my lifeline, providing stability even when my mind feels turbulent.

From here, my meditation takes various forms, depending on my needs and intuition. Some mornings, I engage in chakra toning, allowing primordial sounds to resonate through my energy centers. On other days, I might focus my gaze on a candle flame, a practice known as trataka, which cultivates concentration and inner vision. If emotions run high, I turn to a Kundalini kriya, a dynamic sequence designed to release and transmute energy.

When time allows, I extend my meditation to 30–60 minutes, incorporating mantra repetition, visualization, and journaling. These practices deepen my connection to my inner wisdom and allow me to explore the vast landscape of my consciousness.

However, even on days when only 10 minutes are available, I dedicate that time to simply being present with my breath. As Paramahansa Yogananda wisely said, “Calmness of mind is one of the beautiful jewels of wisdom.”

Through consistent practice, I’ve reaped the rewards of this morning ritual. I navigate my day with greater equanimity, facing challenges with poise and responding to stressors with mindful awareness rather than reactivity. I am more patient, compassionate, and attuned to the needs of both myself and others.

While not every meditation is a transcendent experience, each session strengthens my inner resolve and deepens my connection to my true self. Starting my day from this place of centered awareness allows me to move through life with greater purpose, presence, and peace. It’s a daily reminder that even amidst the chaos, I can always return to the sanctuary within.

--

--

Sue Bushell
Moving into Stillness

I’m the author of Radiant Bliss: A Transformative Yoga Journey for the Modern Soul. Say hi via email sueyogini (at) me.com