Wrangler Round-Up: K. Bhuvana Meenakshi

MozFest
Mozilla Festival
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2019

Welcome back to our “Wrangler Round-Up” Series, where we get to know some of the community volunteers (aka Wranglers) who are co-designing MozFest 2019. This week we’re hearing from Bhuvana Meenkashi, a Mozilla Rep, Mozilla Mixed Reality evangelist, and traditional Indian dance enthusiast from Salem, Tamil Nadu, in India. She’s wrangling in this year’s Openness Space.

Current favorite book/movie/song/app/meme/video? I am reading “Chanakya’s 7 secrets on Leadership” by Dr. Radhakrishnan Pillai, which is an excellent compilation of real success stories of leaders and policemen. This is the continuation of “Corporate Chanakya” and it remained my favorite book of all time and guided me on how to be an ideal leader in my workplace and Open source communities I work and volunteer for. I usually write reviews on books here.

What draws you to MozFest? This is my second time at MozFest and first time as a Space Wrangler. I just love the energy and ambience that is created in the atmosphere which really inspires me with creative ideas. Also ever since my childhood I am very much interested in meeting people from various countries and keen to learn about various cultures and how things actually function there although India is diversified with ample culture, food and people per se. Also I feel like this is more of a family reunion to me :)

What unique perspective(s) do you bring to space wrangling? I have been volunteering as a Mozillian since 5 years and I understand from various Open Source community perspectives on how important it is to organise an event, value everyone’s time and also keep them all engaged. These are the three major areas of focus which I will keep in mind on every little thing as a space wrangler I do and I encourage my team do as well.

What are you most looking forward to about your space this year? The previous year I was a facilitator at MozFest and I was inspired by my space wranglers, the way they took responsibilities to make every session a great success was very appreciable. I want to give back the same energy and effort to this year’s Space Wranglers. Also I am now more familiar to the requirements of the facilitators as I had been one, so I just look forward to make the Openness Space the best experience for all facilitators and audience visiting our space.

What link or resource would you like to share (MozFest-related, or otherwise)? The MozFest wiki and the blog I wrote on my experience at Mozfest last year.

MozFest 2019 is on 21–27 October in London. Visit our website to learn more and get your MozFest Tickets now!

--

--

MozFest
Mozilla Festival

The world’s leading festival for the open Internet movement.