My First Blog on my Community☺

Batchu Thrishna
Mozilla India
Published in
4 min readAug 17, 2019

Introduction

Hey there!🙋‍♀️ I’m Thrishna pursuing 3rd year of B.Tech in CSE field at Lovely Professional University. I’m an android developer and an astronomy enthusiast. I’m really very excited to share my story with you all.😊

I saw an announcement on Devops by Mozilla Punjab Community in my university’s announcements. I always attend events or meetups related to tech, because it’s where I meet as many people as possible who are interested in the things just like me. I didn’t talk to strangers even in meetups, this is one of the bad practices (I realized later😅 ).

This time I took a step forward and spoke to the Mozilla Punjab Community members because I had a question on Devops. I realized that when you talk to people about your learning, they would help you out if they are in the same field. They would give you their techniques or tips to tackle any problem. So, after interacting with them, I joined them in telegram group where they talk about upcoming events. This was the second meetup I joined them. It was so awesome and funny.There was this saying

“People may hear your words, but they feel your attitude”

by John C. Maxwell

and I can relate this with the people in the team because even they know much more than others, they won’t feel superior to anyone. Neither they make others to feel like it.

Knowledge is all about sharing😉

The members in this community just share their knowledge with others, support and learn from them. They always give chances to everyone to speak, share about tech.

Everyone is sharing their dreams😍

This meetup, it went strange because I enjoyed a lot.😁 They, not only delivered speeches but they tried not to get it too bored to anyone. With fun quizzes, and activities they filled every participant mind with full of enthusiasm. 😎

Showing their enthusiasm at quiz😊

The speaker, Prathamesh was full of knowledge and shared a lot about Open Source, Linux and booting process of Computers. He made everyone in the room understand about it and didn’t get tired of explaining it many times. I really want to appreciate him.😊 Sometimes you know what you want to do and don’t know how to get started with it. This is being a problem to each and every tech beginner. So, without skipping it, another speaker, Vishal gave some cool tips on what and how to get started to contribute to Open Source.

Speaker Prathamesh (up), Speaker Vishal (down)

Do you know where you can get some cool tips related to tech??👀

It’s in the community.😃

Mozilla Punjab Community Members

And this motivated me too, to share how I get started by participating, joining the Mozilla Punjab Community.😜

Conclusion

I would suggest everyone (who are interested in tech) to attend meetups or events because you meet your like-minded people and share what you do or what they are doing and you can collaborate with each other, do some projects in future. Being all by yourself doesn’t do any harm, it neither do any good. Just once try to come out of your shell and join the community (any one) and start to share your opinions or thoughts that might help you to think about what you want to do. Sometimes while sharing, you get to know something about yourself.

There are so many people out there to help you if you are stuck somewhere. And no one is going to ask you personally or tell you their experiences until you ask. If you want to be in tech field, you should get out of your comfort zone and start sharing, telling about what you know about tech.

You can say that if I share my problem what do they think about me?

The community members never and ever say anything to anyone. If you know something, Share. If you don’t, Learn. This is how you are going to grow. Not everyone is good at everything but they know something by sharing. Even I had a problem in talking to people and sharing knowledge about tech, but I overcame it, maybe you too can overcome this.

Overcome the impossible odds and follow your ❤

If you find any events or meetups nearby, go participate.

Come out, join, share and learn.

You learn something when you get involved in it.

Happy Learning😊 Hoping you’ve got some motivation to try new things.

Let me know in the comments what have you tried😉

--

--