My First Community Call with Mozilla Punjab!

Rahul Gambhir
Mozilla India
Published in
4 min readAug 27, 2019

Hello Everyone! I’m Rahul, a 1st-year undergraduate student from IT stream. I have a keen interest in Web Development and I’m a Front End Developer by profession. This is my first blog and I’m very much excited about this. I’m passionate about Free and Open Source. I love to learn from the community and at the same time, I want to give back to the community in every way possible.

An image with a Quote
Image Source: Google Images

Now in this blog, I’m going to cover how Mozilla Communities have helped me bring out the best in me, and also how it can help you too!

Yeah, I have found you Mozilla Punjab!

Photo by William White on Unsplash

I’m a member of the Mozilla Rajasthan community on Telegram. From there, I came to know about Mozilla Punjab and now I’m also an active member of this community. There, we share a lot of things which includes knowledge, current updates, all sorts of open-source activities, upcoming meet-ups, etc. Apart from this, many active members discuss their queries and experience.

My First personal interaction with Mozilla Punjab!

Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

Being an active member of the community, I always stay connected with the amazing people and eventually came to know about the webinars which they conduct especially for those who belong to far off places or remote areas and who are not able to come in-person to attend the meetups. So, on 24th August 2019, there was a community call scheduled to discuss some basic queries and important updates regarding the community!

My expectations from this Webinar

Photo by J. Kelly Brito on Unsplash

As it was my first community call with Mozilla Punjab, I was very much excited about what’s going to happen there.

I was expecting it to be tech only webinar but it was not like that. It started with introductions and then we discussed some cool stuffs related to Mozilla.

It was especially stressed to solve the queries associated with Mozilla and Mozilla Punjab Community. It also covered all the important stuff which a beginner required at the starting of their journey as a developer, which I will discuss later on.

Zoom: We are live now!

Image Source: Google Images

This was the first time I have attended a webinar on Zoom which is an easy, fast and reliable platform. Before this, I used several other platforms like Skype, GoToMeeting, etc.

So, we started by introducing ourselves. Then we discussed a lot of things like how to start our journey in the programming world; new things related to Open Source; how one can contribute to Mozilla, etc. We were provided with some important links by the community members which guided us to various Mozilla portals and developers landing page like https://mozillians.org/en-US/, https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/contribute, etc.

The Memorable Moment!

Image Source: Google Images

The best thing about this webinar was that it was very beginner-friendly. The community members answered all the queries of the students.

In the end, I would like to thank Vishal and Kartik for sparing their valuable time in conducting this webinar. It was a great and knowledgeable session.

Wrapping Up

I would suggest other fellow beginners be a part of this valuable community. I would love to continue with these people and attend future meet-ups. I love sharing knowledge with other like-minded people and will try my best to contribute to the projects, meet-ups and community engagements.

“When you are young, work to Learn, not to Earn.”

--

--

Rahul Gambhir
Mozilla India

writer, dreamer, open-source lover, finding beauty in the everyday.