2017 Hopes and Fears

Yvone Lee
Puma Weekly News & Culture
1 min readJan 4, 2017

My hopes for this year are getting into the schools that I applied for and graduating having completed my personal and team goals. Aside from my educational goals, I hope to end my Drum Corps years this Spring Competition with 1st Place. Our Drum Corps has never won 1st, nonetheless, even place, but I want this to be the year where we finally achieve that. My personal hope is to start anew down in Los Angeles where my family is currently living. I’ve lived in San Francisco all my life and with college coming up, I am hoping to attend a college in So Cal where I can experience different people and environments.

My fears for this year are college admissions and how my first semester will go. I am excited but am slightly worried of the courses and how campus life will be. A fear I have as a person living in the United States, is Donald Trump being our new President, which is a common concern for many here, especially the minority. Trump has encouraged racism and sexism, this is a concern because many feel unsafe, angry, and rejected by this. As someone with so much influence and power, he should be taking action in a way that would benefit everyone in a manner that isn’t discriminating nor favoring. Trump is reversing society rather than progressing it.

--

--