A LETTER TO A YOUNG PERSON

ZABRINA BUSTOS
2 min readMar 14, 2017

--

Dear Little Sis,

You are an annoying, bright and yet delicate little sister I ever had. You remind of my younger self. Very smart and brilliant. I see you every weekends wearing my clothes that I grew up into now and it fits you perfectly. We both grew up differently with a broken family. My actual mom and dad divorced when my twin sister and I were just two years old here in the United States when we just arrived from the Philippines. Our mom then met your dad a few years later and created you and our little brother. We are half siblings but we treat you as our full sibling. Throughout growing up, My twin sister and I managed to take care of you most of the time since mom is always and work and your dad is lazy and always fools around. Our mom and your dad were not married for almost 15 years. Now, he has found someone else who he is currently with . You don’t see him as much either, just on some days. Mom went through many obstacles trying to get out family together, she dealt with many heartbreaks and difficult situations. At your age right now, I wished someone would’ve told me that love is blind and that If you love someone so much, you loose yourself. I am too going through some of the hardships mom is going through too. I want you to take your time in being in a serious or not so serious relationship with someone and be sure to provide your communication, support, patience and trust with your partner in the future. Be a good child and don’t let anyone force you into something you don’t want to do and focus more on your education and achieving your dreams.

SINCERELY,

Zabrina Bustos (Big Sis #2)

--

--