Between the World and Me 2

HOLLY YEE
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

--

Writing Prompt:

Reflect on Your Own Learning. What has your formal education been like up to now? What kind of student were you? What drove you? What were the values of your school? Did they fit you? What have been your most formative informal learning experiences? In what way were they different from your formal education? Have you been encouraged to ask questions? Were there particular people who impacted you or methods that you used to learn about things you did not know? What do you expect your college education will be like (what do you want out of it)?

I dunno what to say honestly, my education has been pretty normal. New classes with new teachers every year. I somehow manage to pass the class with my waning attention span that gets worse every year. And when it all ends, I cut it all off.

I guess you could say I was a good student. Quiet, bookish, studious. That’s what everyone thought about me. Sort of. I’m more of a lazy, go-with-the-flow, oh-shit-we-had-homework-? type of person. I still managed to pass all my classes though. The trick lies in paying attention in class. Oh, and the moment I get home, procrastination hits hard, so I have to finish homework in class. And that means I never study or anything, disregarding last minute studying. It all works out anyhow.

As for school values…I guess friendship and responsibility and rainbows and sparkles? I dunno.

I ask questions. Asking questions is always good because you don’t know and now they know you don’t know and they’ll help you out a bit. Maybe they’ll even lower their guard a bit.

I don’t bother with any learning methods cause well, they’re bothersome and it kinda irritates my pride. It’s not like you need any of it anyways. You just need to watch carefully and use common sense.

As for college experience, I sure as hell expect it to be useful. Like I want to learn about things I will use and actually care about.

--

--