Black-White Divide

NATALIE MEDINA-CHAVEZ
Puma Weekly News & Culture
1 min readFeb 17, 2017

Growing up as a girl of Latin heritage, it was a different world for me. People would have expectations of you, or your family would limit you from doing things. But luckily for me i have parents who understand me and let me be me. Although some of my other family members are not so open minded. As i grew up I noticed a lot of discrimination from my family against my family. When i was 6 i remember having a big brother that slowly turned into my sister. It was a long process for her to admit she wasn’t happy being a man. So she decided to change her look and become content with who she is. My mother took it kind of hard, but accepted her the way she is, so did i and my other older sister. On the other hand, I noticed people staring at her, people not treating her equally or even my own family members discriminating her for who she is. She was rejected for several years. She felt lonely and an outcast. As her younger sister I was there for her and supported her. Discrimination can take in all forms, even among your won family. Now that time has passed by, I remember earlier last month when my sister and my grandmother seen each other for the first time in 7 years. They both got emotional and so did I, knowing what my sister has gone through.

--

--