Coates on Education

carmen chung
Puma Weekly News & Culture
2 min readMar 3, 2017

Reflect on Your Own Learning. What has your formal education been like up to now? What kind of student were you? What drove you? What were the values of your school? Did they fit you? What have been your most formative informal learning experiences? In what way were they different from your formal education? Have you been encouraged to ask questions? Were there particular people who impacted you or methods that you used to learn about things you did not know? What do you expect your college education will be like (what do you want out of it)?

My education ever since I was a child was one of the best considering my parents could afford it. I started my education in a Private Christian Preschool, and then started at a public elementary located in st. francis woods, and then graduated to the best public middle school which was in the sunset, and then graduated to a public high school. The academic portion of my education was never bad but it was never good either. I learned what I should’ve learned at that time but I never learned anything new or above. Throughout middle school I was a mostly A student with 1–2 B and same with high school. My parents mainly drove me to work hard so that I would fit in with the asian stereotype. I dont really know if this is how i should be or not because its been like this my whole life.

Living in America today, education is much more fun. They encourage questions, expressing your ideas and opinions and I never experienced something different. I think my college education will be more like education back then. Like questions and opinions, keep them to yourself until you get alone time with the professor.

--

--