Adimora Austin
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication
2 min readSep 20, 2024

--

I miss how simple things used to be

Photo by ricardo frantz on Unsplash

Without gathering together all the facts and figures, I placed my hand on the plough, and still, I’m not looking back. There are no regrets, or ill feelings, except for the feeling of missing how simple things used to be. Right now, what I’m ploughing is scheming to take away my early twenties.

There’s an endless competition left and right, center and back, different from what I used to know. There’s incessant palpitation, and heartache. There are long days full of sighs and restlessness. There are long sleepless nights filled with silent cries, pillow drenched in sweat, and eyes gazing at the ceiling. And those inner voices seeking for a way out? They’re endless. I really miss how simple things used to be. I really do.

I’m beginning to understand it when people say that “ignorance is bliss.” In this fast paced world, we all want to know, and even to know more. We are never truly satisfied with knowing. I miss how all I’ve to do was to read anything I wanted, without having to read a bunch of uninteresting stuffs to pass exams. I miss the hours when I can decide to play football without a part of me feeling sour for not seating down somewhere quiet doing rote memorization.

Things are very much complicated today. It’s easier to imagine the forest that’s continents away from us, when we have trees staring at us at our front yard. Staying in the moment is almost impossible. This is probably dumb, but I miss the ignorant me. I miss serving mass at the altar. I miss physical talks with close buddies. I miss home. I miss staying alone in my own room.

It sucks really, because things may not get any simpler. But if you can just take a moment to declutter your mind, maybe it’d. There’s bliss in simplicity, and ignorance, and ‘knowing that what you’ve is enough.’ Don’t be deceived: less is truly more.

--

--

Adimora Austin
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication

I'm a word-weaver observing life's complexities, with the intention of uncovering the hidden stories so as to make the intricate approachable.