I wanna be a kid again

gem
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication
2 min readJul 22, 2024
https://pin.it/4ufWhNsxb

When I was a kid, my thoughts were mostly full with the excitement of becoming a teen or adult. I frequently fantasize about the things I would do when the time comes.

Guess it’s not the same anymore.

I’m now a teenager, close to being considered an adult. Who would have guessed that the reality of life would strike me so early?

It’s funny how I used to enjoy playing outside, interacting with others, doing things to cheer everyone up, and snuggling with my parents on the bed. It’s just that I can’t do those anymore.

I now spend the most of my time alone. When I engage with other people, I feel uneasy. I’ve grown tired of pleasing everyone, and I only feel nervous when my parents embrace me or praise me in the past few years.

I just learned how true it is that you will only be a kid once. When I reached my teenage years, I understood that life does not always appear as vibrant as I remember it.

Now I have to focus about passing the course I chose in college. I’ll have to figure out what to do tomorrow and the following days. My life is in my hands; everything relies on how I do today.

As I sat in the library reading my book about the meaning and value of history, my attention was drawn to something when I accidently glanced out the window, where I could see the playground.

Do these kids already have a problem? I hope they don’t. I want them to enjoy their youth and not think about becoming adults too quickly. I don’t want their smiles to fade away, like my happiness did when I became a teenager.

A father giggled as he held his daughter in his arms, and he seemed equally happy as his child.

I sighed, oh how I wanna be a kid again.

--

--

gem
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication

a lover who came across an app where she can talk about everything that no one notices