Thrice Charmed: My Tryst with Love

The Great Sage
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication
3 min readFeb 23, 2024
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

Last semester, I fell in love. I don’t expect anyone to believe me. It seems no small feat to be able to fall in love in this world, but I have, twice. Three times, if you consider the fact that I’m in love again.

“Love isn’t a feeling, it’s a set of actions.”

Twice, I had dedicated my future to two people, and twice, two people tried dedicating their futures to me. We didn’t work out.

I’m only 20 years old, but I take these matters seriously. Why? I think emotions are cool when they aren’t playing us. Being able to control your emotions, and not the other way around, comes with an assurance that could help one manifest the best things life has to offer.

“The Story”

Photo by Blaz Photo on Unsplash

Grace: I was 10 years old when Grace and I met. She was 11 or 12. She asked me out. She wrote it on a piece of paper with two boxes, yes or no, “Do you want to be my boyfriend?” Her friend brought it, along with the ice cream and popcorn she bought.

I was going to say no. I don’t think we had had a prior conversation before then. I didn’t even talk to anyone from that church. Yes, it was at church.

My brothers and cousin ate the collectibles and protested that I simply couldn’t say no, they had already eaten the food. I agreed, it wasn’t going to kill me, I thought, or rather, I didn’t.

Grace is most definitely a year or two older than me, but she’s always been six years older than me, at least. I said yes. I was a lousy boyfriend for four years on and off, but she made me feel like a man every step of the way. I just couldn’t see it then.

Mayo: Long story short, Mayo was a friend’s girlfriend. I was her “best friend” for quite some time. I fell in love, ironically, I was hurt.

Aphrodite: If you ever see this, I love you, platonically. You’re a diamond and may you shine brighter as the years go by.

Ini: I still have our pictures. I couldn’t delete them, mostly because I didn’t realize how much you meant to me. Last semester, after the breakup, I broke down. Like a vehicle without brakes, I crashed into a mountain of emotions. I lost control.

“The Poem”

Photo by Tiko Giorgadze on Unsplash

I want to hold you again,

I want to kiss her again.

I’ve had dreams about her,

She wasn’t her, but close.

I’ve fallen again,

I’m thinking about the past again.

I have dreams for us,

She’s not closer, but “her”.

I’m worried again,

I can’t cry again.

I don’t know how to give up,

Down can never be up.

The world’s small again,

I can breathe again.

If wishes were horses,

Beggars would ride.

Thank you for reading !

--

--