Transforming Our Pain

The Great Sage
Mr. Plan ₿ Publication
2 min readApr 23, 2024
Photo by Micke Lindström on Unsplash

For those unfamiliar with Naruto, the analogy I’m about to make may seem foreign, but I’ll endeavor to clarify. Naruto Uzumaki, the protagonist of the eponymous series, endured a solitary childhood, shunned without understanding why. His journey is one of transformation, harnessing his pain into power-a lesson we can all learn from.

Naruto’s Training: A Metaphor for Life

Naruto learns a technique called ‘Rasengan,’ which requires him to shape his life force into a tumultuous sphere. This process, much like life, is chaotic and unpredictable. Crucially, Naruto’s training is solitary. His mentor’s intermittent guidance ensures Naruto’s independence, preventing any false hope of a paternal figure.

The Reality of Existence

As an addict who has recently quit, I often find myself disenchanted with reality. This world, with all its flaws, seems unbearable at times. Yet, the pursuit of wealth, a common remedy for pain, is not a panacea. Material gain cannot erase pain; it can only strengthen us or leave us unchanged.

When clarity returns, and I face reality once more, a chill runs down my spine. Is life truly horrendous? It might seem so from a personal standpoint, but to claim so would be egocentric. Life’s richness varies greatly from person to person, often appearing most vibrant to the youngest among us.

Having hit rock bottom, I’ve realized there’s nowhere lower to go. My mental health struggles, rooted in childhood trauma, have long been a source of anguish. Yet, society dictates we move on, discarding our past. I argue instead that we should reclaim our pain-it’s a source of untapped energy.

Pain as Freedom

Naruto’s mastery of Rasengan is symbolic of embracing one’s struggles. Similarly, I choose to view my pain as a reminder of my freedom-the freedom to make difficult decisions, to forgive myself, and to love unconditionally. decisions, to forgive myself, and to love unconditionally.

Acceptance Over Fear

By accepting life’s dualities-the good and the bad-I refuse to be paralyzed by fear. Fear, after all, is a sign of potential confidence. Despite my depression hindering my routine, I recognize the importance of mundane tasks like brushing my teeth or taking exams. These are not parts of my life to resent but to accept.

The Journey of Pain and Happiness

Our pain and happiness are integral to our journey, not to be discarded but embraced and healed. Life’s essence isn’t found in dwelling on sorrow or idealizing joy but in accepting the full spectrum of our experiences.

Thank you for reading.

--

--