Unlikely Bonds

DBW
MrDBW
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2015
27 - Unlikely Bonds

Tranquil scenes like the one above are a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle that often characterize life in a foreign country. What’s equally comforting are the subtle reminders of home, familiar relics from past lives unexpectedly unearthed in unfamiliar lands, no matter how profanely obscene they may be.

Big Sean’s angry, resentful hit song, I Don’t Fuck With You, is not the timeless classic that you’d expect to be culturally transcendent. But with the airwaves of the world being polluted with meaningless ballads about baking soda or disloyal hoes, Big Sean’s work stands out for being SO stratospherically absurd that you can’t help but respect the guy for releasing something so ridiculously over-the-top. And it doesn’t hurt that it’s just an absolute joy to sing along to whenever it comes on.

Much to my delight, I Don’t Fuck With You, came on the speakers one night at a club in Manila but being the only American in the group, I didn’t expect anyone to share in my giddy excitement. However, one of the best parts about traveling are those random connections you make with others around the world and this time, I formed an unlikely bond with an English girl on vacation from her current home in Japan. Not only did she love the song but she was more than willing to join me in an inebriated, over-indulgent karaoke session. Hearing the lyrics “You little stupid ass bitch, I ain’t fuckin’ with youuuu!” in a British accent is nothing short of amazing.

--

--