Don’t rely on a future event to hit your goals

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2017
Missed my step goal, but I’m still pleased with my day.

Yesterday’s step count was 7,672.

Not an outstanding step day. In fact, it’s below my daily step goal of 8,500. But, I’m still pleased. Here’s the thing… it could have easily been only a 4,000 or 5,000 step day.

I had a soccer game at night which got cancelled due to weather.

Sometimes in the past, I’ve skipped my daily walks in anticipation of getting more steps later in the day from soccer. In fact, this is why my average step count used to only be 4,000 or 5,000. But yesterday, I didn’t. I took my normal 2 walks: one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

These days, I do everything I can to take my daily walks regardless of whether I’m running or playing soccer later in the day.

I do this for a couple of reasons:

1) That future event might never happen. It could get cancelled. Something might come up preventing me from going. So, sticking to my #walking routine is like step insurance.

2) Each time you practice your habit, it’s like making a small deposit into a bank account. It solidifies the habit and makes you better.

So, the lesson I’ve learned over time is to not defer taking action by relying on a future event to hit your goals.

If you do defer action, you give life the opportunity to sabotage you (and it will). Be inpatient with your daily goals and hit your numbers as early in the day as possible because as the day wears on, stuff always come up.

Follow me on Instagram for daily stats, tips and motivation:

Click the image to view on Insta!

Thanks for reading! To show my appreciation, here are a couple of health tracking goodies for ya:

  1. The Google spreadsheet I use to track my own health stats. Just save a copy or download as an Excel file (no subscription required, please enjoy!)
  2. My weekly newsletter where I share my personal stats and most practical, actionable tips to help you on your own health journey. Sign up below:

MHT

--

--

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker

Number crunching my way to better health. Follow my journey for daily stats, tips, and motivation. https://www.instagram.com/mrhealthtracker/