How to log an entire day of food in MyFitnessPal in 54 seconds

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2017

Here’s a quick video I made showing how I logged a full day of healthy eating in 54 seconds on the MyFitnessPal app.

When you’ve been tracking your food for a long time and you eat the same foods from day-to-day and week-to-week, logging an entire day’s worth of meals is a breeze. This is because the more you log the same foods and meals, the more MyFitnessPal recalls.

Think about it like making a small deposit in the MFP memory bank each time you log food, making it smarter as a result.

Here are some examples of how MyFitnessPal’s “memory” can save you a ton of time.

1) If you ate the same food anytime recently that you can remember, just go back to that day in the app and copy the meal over to today.

2) Foods that are paired frequently are associated with each other. Once you enter one food, the foods you combine most frequently with it come up as suggestions you can easily add. This is what happened with my green smoothie. The same ingredients go into it each time.

3) On the app when you start typing in the first few letters of a food, the items you’ve eaten most frequently that match those letters will come up to the top of the search results making them quick to enter. This is what happened with my Chipotle salad. I always get the same thing: chicken, steak, pico, corn, double white rice, and guac on the side. So that result comes up first.

If you are a food tracking newb, you may not be able to track everything in under a minute.

But you can easily get there in a few weeks if you stick with it. And it’s still very easy to quickly search for the foods you ate and log them. It shouldn’t take you more than a few minutes to record an entire day of food.

With such a small time investment required and the massive benefits you gain from nutritional awareness, there’s really no reason not to track your food.

Follow me on Instagram for daily stats, tips and motivation:

Click to view on Insta!

Thanks for reading! To show my appreciation, here are a couple of health tracking goodies for ya:

  1. The Google spreadsheet I use to track my own health stats. Just save a copy or download as an Excel file (no subscription required, please enjoy!)
  2. My weekly newsletter where I share my personal stats and most practical, actionable tips to help you on your own health journey. Sign up below:

MHT

--

--

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker

Number crunching my way to better health. Follow my journey for daily stats, tips, and motivation. https://www.instagram.com/mrhealthtracker/