Logging food like a pro and low-calorie Starbucks lattes

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2017

Sup trackers,

I’m running my first half-marathon in 4 days. I’m excited and a little nervous at the same time.

One thing I’ve got going for me is that I’ve trained more for this race than any run I’ve ever done, so I think it will be fine. I’m really looking forward to the feeling of accomplishment afterwards. We’ll see how it goes. Stay tuned to find out next week…

In the meantime, here are a few specific, actionable takeaways from my recent posts that you might find useful:

How to log your food like a pro

If you’re not taking advantage of MyFitnessPal’s “memory” features, you should start doing so because it will save you a ton of time.

Here are a few ways it does this:

1) If you ate the same food anytime recently that you can remember, just go back to that day in the app and copy the meal over to today.

2) Foods that are paired frequently are associated with each other. Once you enter one food, the foods you combine most frequently with it come up as suggestions you can easily add.

3) On the app when you start typing in the first few letters of a food, the items you’ve eaten most frequently that match those letters will come up to the top of the search results making them quick to enter.

Fortunately, most of it comes down to simply tracking your meals for a long enough time to build some food history.

Check out my Instagram video which shows me logging a full day of healthy eating on the MyFitnessPal app in 54 seconds:

22801910 141715133132553 3154174916476010496 n

Full day of eating food log video www.instagram.com

Pumpkin spice latte for 1/3 of the calories

I cut the calories in my Starbucks fall favorite, Pumpkin Spice Latte, from 420 to 134. Here’s how:

1) Swap whole milk for skim. Easy peasy. I’ve been drinking all my espresso drinks with nonfat milk for so long, I don’t notice the difference anymore.

2) No whip. Just go without it a couple of times and you’ll get used to it quickly.

3) 3 pumps of “pumpkin sauce,” worth 33 calories each, are in a tall. Now, I just order 1 pump.

Pro-tip: get the app and construct your low-cal option for one order.

After that, it’s easier to just repeat your previous order than ordering the default version.

Check out my full article and visual on Medium and if you found it helpful, please share!

1*f2iliqgfhfoc1fqjfe074q

How to order a 134 calorie Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucksmedium.com

Weekly health score: 98%

Last, but not least, here are my health stats for last week. Third week in a row I’ve had a perfect or near-perfect health score!

Click the image to view on Insta!

That’s all for this issue of the newsletter. Feel free to hit reply with any questions or comments.

Also, please forward this to someone you know who would benefit from it or share using the social buttons below!

Until next time, keep tracking!

MHT

More goodies:

--

--

Mr. Health Tracker
Mr. Health Tracker

Number crunching my way to better health. Follow my journey for daily stats, tips, and motivation. https://www.instagram.com/mrhealthtracker/