Writer’s blog 7

MRW
The Digital Perspective
2 min readMar 13, 2024

I am someone who has never loved writing. I never minded writing papers, especially if they were creative or about something I am interested in. While I never minded it, I never loved it. I would never find myself sitting down and writing about anything, or even just writing my thoughts in a journal.I have tried to sit and journal, but I never create a habit of it and stick with it.

In doing these weekly writer’s blog I have been “forced” to sit down and write. I used to struggle to sit and write a specific word count for a class. Writing lengthier pieces has become much easier for me as I have been writing more often. The techniques used in my writing has also helped in other writings I have had to work on this semester.

I have found it easier to conduct research and turn that into my own form of writing in my own words. Writing different styles of papers has become easier as well. I have written creatively, research, and academically this semester and all have been significantly easier to conduct than in the past.

My favorite type of writing would be free, creative writing with a small prompt for guidelines. Being able to write freely gives a sense of creative power. It can be freeing as a writer. I like having some wort of structure in my writings, so I do appreciate an open ended prompt. Having this prompt still allows for creative freedom in your writing, but still includes structure.

I have also learned what topics I enjoy writing about. I enjoy self reflections, social media, and online technology. Most of my writings have been about online media this semester. This is a topic that interests me and I find easy to write about. It is also easier to conduct research on a topic of interest rather than an assigned topic. Being intrigued and interested in what is being researched and discovered helps to conduct better research. It helps to avoid lazy research and instead use proper research techniques to find accurate facts and information on a topic of interest.

Writing is something that many people, especially students, dread to do. I think this is because they do not go about it in the right way. They are not writing about topics that interest them and instead are focused on the wrong subjects. Finding a topic of interest can change someone’s entire outlook on writing. It will not only make them actually want to write, but also improve their writing. When are you are writing about something that interests you, your writing will improve drastically.

I hope to continue writing in my spare time after this class and this semester. I have learned my own writing styles and how I prefer to write. Writing more often has improved not only my attitude towards writing, but my writing skills as well. I have become a better and more efficient writer through more consistent writing and practice.

--

--