My Recruitment Process at MSC, KiiT Chapter

Aditya Sinha
MLSAKIIT
Published in
3 min readJan 14, 2022

In this blog, I will be sharing my experience with the recruitment process at Microsoft Student Community (MSC), KiiT Chapter and I hope this will benefit students who are seeking to join this esteemed community.

MSC, KiiT Chapter is a technical community wherein students collaborate with varying skills, be it content creation or web development, and come up with great project ideas which have real-world applications. They have recruitment drives wherein they recruit new members to the community by making them go through a recruitment process. This time, there were slots opened for — Content Writers, Video Editors, Developers, Designers and Marketing Experts, and I applied for the post of a Content Writer.

The recruitment process comprised mainly of two rounds — 1. Writing Round and 2. Interview Round.

1. Writing Round: In this round, we were supposed to write essays. In total, there were three essay topics, out of which, two were compulsory and one was optional. I attempted all of them as I did not want to leave any stone unturned in my selection. The first topic was, ‘What is the main USP of a Technical Blog’. Here, I spoke on how a technical blog tries to penetrate a specific niche and that rigorous research is imperative prior to writing a technical blog. The second topic was, ‘Pick any global issue and write how technology helped in solving it’. When I read this topic, my mind was flushed with a multitude of ideas. After contemplating for a minute or so, I went with discrepancies in payment systems wherein I spoke about online wallets and how it has helped in securing our payments. I spoke about how paying via online wallets adds an extra layer of security as opposed to paying via cards. The third topic (optional) was, ‘Explain to a five-year-old a technical concept’. Here, I spoke about consensus building in crypto mining as I was aware of the blockchain technology and had some prior knowledge pertaining to the cryptocurrency space. I had to keep this essay simple and to the point as it was aimed at explaining to a five-year-old.

2. Interview Round: I received a mail after a few days, stating that I have been shortlisted for the interview round. I was then added to the official discord server of MSC wherein I was updated with my interview time slot. I was interviewed by a member of MSC who was in the content writing domain. She was kind and helped me throughout the interview round. She started by asking general questions about me and then went on with more technical questions regarding my essays and my past work. After this, she told me the kind of work they do at MSC, KiiT and then assigned me a task. The task was to write an essay in thirty minutes on something motivational which I have come across online. I did not have anything right off my head, but I soon recalled the Ronaldo and the Coke bottle incident which occurred a few days back. So, I went on to write about Ronaldo’s influence. Basically, about his struggles and sacrifices which made him one of the best footballers in the world, and then submitted my essay.

After the interview round was over, I received an email a few days later stating that I had been recruited at MSC, KiiT. I was quite content with the result and looked forward to working for the society. MSC has organised various great events, such as a global hackathon — DaeDarus’ Hack in which even I contributed in the capacity of a content writer. Till now the experience has been phenomenal and the members have been really helpful. I would strongly recommend the readers who aren’t associated with any technical society to consider joining MSC.

--

--