International Women’s Day: Meet Sara

Tusome Pamoja Na M-Shule
@mshuleblog-IWD
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2020

What motivates you every day?

Watching my children grow and thrive and knowing that I can have a positive impact on the kind of education that millions of people receive is what motivates me every day.

How does a typical day look like for you in the office?

My days are anything but typical! I work remotely from my home in Kampala, Uganda. Oftentimes, my youngest child (2.5 years old) is home with her nanny. I also have a cat and 3 dogs, so my house can get busy and loud. Working in this kind of environment has taught me how to be focused and disciplined with my time. Working remotely also means that I need to have various channels of communication open at all times to ensure that my team and my colleagues can get in touch with me when they need to.

What are some of your interests outside of work?

When I’m not working, I spend a lot of time with my children. I also like to cook and bake, swim, and read novels.

The theme for IWD is “an equal world is an enabled world”. How does that intertwine with your work at M-Shule

The work I do at M-Shule directly contributes to our mission of providing access to high-quality educational content to everyone, regardless of age, gender, location, level of education, or internet connectivity. This means that people who are often excluded from educational opportunities, such as women and girls, can access M-Shule’s educational content, thereby expanding their knowledge and providing pathways to skills development and enhanced quality of life.

What is your inspiration behind working at M-Shule?

My inspiration for working at M-Shule is the same as my daily motivation — the ability to have a positive impact on the type of education that millions of people receive.

Message to women as we celebrate IWD?

“The fastest way to change society is to mobilize the women of the world.”

— Charles Malik

--

--

Tusome Pamoja Na M-Shule
@mshuleblog-IWD

M-Shule is the first personalized, mobile learning platform in Africa to connect learners with tailored tutoring, training, assessments and data through SMS.