MONTCLAIR, NJ 05/27/18:; Ivan Ramos, a young man from Passaic High School, pries his attention away from his computer at the Montclair State Journalism Workshop at Montclair State University, in enough time to smile at the camera. Photo by TaAsia Brookins

Escaping The House, One Dig at a Time

--

Ivan Ramos grew up the second youngest in a Mexican family of eight. Being one of the babies, over protectiveness from his parents was inevitable. His parents were rightfully worried about their child’s safety, and wouldn’t let him out of their sight. Imagine the scene in the Bo Welch film, Cat in the Hat , where Conrad and Sally sit unhappily in front of a window on a rainy day.

Like Conrad and Sally, Ramos was bored, lonely, and at home because his mother told him to be.

But instead of actor Mike Myers dressed as a six foot cat wearing a red striped hat, volleyball came to Ramos’ rescue.

“Sports has always been an outlet for me,” said Ramos. “For independence, confidence, and freedom, I fell into sports looking for change, and a way out of the house.”

Ramos’ need to plan ahead, and constant thinking about the future does not contradict his goofy side. Despite his ability to get serious and work hard, his playful character lets off a comfortable and welcoming vibe.

LINCOLN SQUARE, NY 05/25/18; Ivan Ramos, a young man from Passaic High School, makes a funny face toward the camera before entering ABC news network studios with the Montclair State Journalism Workshop. Photo by Ta’Asia Brookins

Ramos was not always the confident and outgoing person he is now. Playing sports opened up many doors for him. After joining volleyball, his mother became less overbearing and let him out of the house more.

Though he enjoyed this newfound freedom, insecurities still crept their way into Ramos’ head.

Older brother Jonathan Ramos was 6’ 4, and plays volleyball for the college of Saint Elizabeth.

“When you have a family member that does something you do, the family expects you to achieve the same if not better,” he said. “And at first it bothered me, but after a while I stood up for myself and gained respect from it, because I wanted people to understand, I am not my brother, I am Ivan.”

Not looking the part, lowered the sixteen year old’s self esteem. The boys were bigger, and more built for the job. Only being five feet and seven inches tall, he felt a bit out of place, but after listening in on other players’ conversations in the locker room , Ramos realized he was not alone.

“Funny looking people thought they were the cutest, and the cutest people thought they were ugly,” he said. “It made me realize that I was my biggest competitor and I was cheating myself. Now I don’t compare myself, when I am older I want to be like Ivan. Volleyball taught me to be my own motivator.”

--

--