For Swimmer Kahory Cruz, treading water is not an option

Sixteen year old Kahory Cruz decided to become a nurse by helping her grandmother who suffers from diabetes. Cruz started to take matters in her own hands and helped her grandmother with morning shots and medicine when her grandmother had unusually high levels of sugar in her blood and her body had low insulin.

Cruz got the spirit to do more in her grandmother’s life and also in other people’s lives too.

Her passion for nursing also drove her to want to go to a nursing program in Chatham University in Pittsburgh, PA.

She said she felt “it would be a great experience to learn how I could put my all in not just to helping my grandma but to help others in need.”

But nursing isn’t her only passion. The Passaic High School junior also loves to swim. When she was in the 8th grade she started going to swimming classes and that’s when the love for swimming sparked.

“It’s when you get the suspense of the water and having to put your all in a competition that’s makes me love it,” she said.

Whether in the water or on the ward, Kahory is a young woman on a mission.

--

--

Marae Reaves
Montclair State University Summer Journalism Workshop

My name is Marae Reaves i go to Montclair High. I am a upcoming junior.I love writing poetry and romance books and also draw women figures.