Living for baseball; but for how long?

Nate Irving won’t give up his dream

Irving while at the University of Virginia. Photo by Virginia Sports TV

“When I was in high school I told myself I would make it to the pros. No matter what it took, I was gonna get there.”

Nate Irving at the age of 24 doesn’t know the word quit. For most of his life he has lived and died for baseball.

As a child living in New York City he would play baseball year round and would never break stride. During his high school years, every summer he would travel to Memphis to play in between seasons.

Irving was recruited by the University of Virginia; beginning the next chapter of his life. During his three year career at Virginia he was the starting catcher.

“Nate Irving has really epitomized what a college catcher should look like. He’s involved in this university. He just has the spirit that you want,” said Virginia head coach Tony Bennett.

Irving capitalized on his opportunity to play at a D1 school and scouts noticed.

In the 2014 draft he was selected by the Arizona Diamondbacks in the 34th round (No. 1020 overall). He played two seasons on the Diamondbacks Single A team. In the offseason he was traded to the Pittsburgh Pirates’ organization.

“I’m gonna be completely honest; it was a surprise. I wasn’t ready to leave just yet. I had so much more to learn in Arizona. And as frustrating as it was, that’s baseball.”

He played one full season with the Pirates’ Single A team before his contract expired. The Pirates’ organization failed to renew his contract, sending him into free agency.

In the offseason he signed a deal with the Sussex County Miners. He is now the backup catcher for the Miners, an independent league team.

“Obviously given the choice I’d rather be a part of an MLB organization, but this is great. I’m still being given a chance to play the sport I love, and who knows?” he said. “I could still make it to the big leagues.

“The dream is still alive until it’s dead.”

--

--