“Music is my addiction”

Writing songs since the age of nine

--

Emel Rodriguez playing the piano Photo Courtesy of Chanila German

From Rosa Parks High School, 15 year-old Emel Rodriguez is known for his reputation of writing songs and playing instruments in his studio.

Rodriguez co-owns a studio located near the Amazon Workplace in Brooklyn, New York, working in it for three years.

Rodriguez pinpoints his love for music originating from his name since he was given a shortened name from a guitar. His great-great grandfather bought a guitar named “Emelanio.” The guitar was passed down to him, where he began to pursue a career in music.

With a passion for music, Rodriguez says he loves to learn as many instruments as he can. As of now, he can play the piano, clarinet, saxophone and the guitar.

Picture of Emel Rodriguez Photo by Melissa Reyes

When asked what inspires him to write music, Rodriguez reveals that music is an outlet to show how he truly feels.

“I don’t usually talk about my emotions so I put it in my music,” said Rodriguez. “I like to write because I express myself through it and I find solutions to the problems I deal with.”

Rodriguez hopes that his music can make a difference in the world.

“It allows others that listen to my music and are going through the same problems as I do to cope,” Rodriguez said.

Rodriguez wrote a song “August” for Azerrz, gathering 1.4 million views on YouTube with a wide-range of positive and negative comments. In response to constructive criticism, Rodriguez takes it into consideration when writing new songs.

Through working in his studio, Rodriguez has managed to meet with artists like Marshmello, Ky Dreams and Alec Benjamin.

Rodriguez ‘s fingers playing the piano Photo Courtesy of Chanila German

Currently, Rodriguez plans to expand his musical pursuits by teaching students how to work in a studio. He would also love to become a well known name through singing. His goal is to continue doing what he loves doing, which is music.

--

--

Melissa Reyes
Montclair State University Summer Journalism Workshop

Melissa is a student in Passaic Preparatory Academy who enjoys writing about current events and commenting on social issues.