Pitching From Minor to Major

Nathaniel Benjamin Irving is a 24 year old Minors League baseball player. He has big aspirations of making it into Majors League Baseball.

Although, in striving towards this goal he won’t let fame take away from forgetting his roots. As often as he can he visits his old high school in Riverdale, NY.

“I try to be who I am on and off field, because you can’t be two different people.”

Irving tends to speak in aphorisms, when asked what was the best advice given to him he replied, “Coach once told me, the only thing that matters is what happens next.”

With more than three years in experience as a baseball player, Irving was bound to pick up a few key ideas along the way.

”Baseball, ironically is a game based off of failure. Where you know you are going to fail some where along the line and realistically the best players or the greatest players are the people who are able to take the focus on the what happens next rather than what’s to happen in the future. And for me it’s really taken a long time for me to get to that point.”

Irving certainly spends most of his time preparing for his baseball games. He believes staying fit and healthy is a key component to being a great baseball player.

“A lot of stretching, mobility work, um a lot of body work so to say…it’s a long season so if you don’t take care of your body, your career is going to end really quick…”

He even spends the few hours of free time he has in a gym.

“I’m in the gym a lot because of what the game demands so it is a priority for me to stay on top of my nutrition and my body and stuff so besides from playing everyday”

Although, this very busy man still finds a little time to watch his favorite show.

“Netflix is the -ish, Hulu you know? I will say that my guilty pleasure is The Voice. Although, the season just ended so I’m looking for a new show.”

Even though Nathaniel Irving definitely has his plate full, he loves what he does and that drives his motivation to do better each day.

--

--