Q & A with Shanaiysah Moore

Q: How old are you?

A: 16

Q: What school do you go to?

A: Orange High School

Q: What grade are you in?

A: I’m a rising junior

Q: I understand that you do the Tornado News at Orange High School. What made you start doing the school newspaper?

A: Well, first it was like, when I was in OPA, in middle school, they basically just put me in the class because we just started and after that I just decided to go on it because I wanted to help out the school and, you know, help better it by talking about our problems that we have there.

Q: So you continued to do Journalism at the high school?

A:Yes. I’ve been doing it for 3 years now

Q: How did you find out about the MSU Journalism Workshop?

A: Well, my teacher, Mr. Arlea, basically told me about it and told me that it could be useful to me and it could help me since I’m thinking about doing Journalism and videos and stuff like that. So he thought this would be a good program to better my skills.

Q: Speaking of skills, what skills do you think will improve just by doing this workshop?

A: It will help me interview better and build up articles better.

Q: Do you plan to major in Journalism in college?

A: I might

Q: What are your career goals?

A: My career goal is to be a psychologist for children, but I’m also interested in videos and photography so I thin think this program will help me with that. I could probably do it on the side. I don’t now yet.

Q: Do you know what college you want to go to?

A: I want to go to Princeton or Harvard because those are top schools and I believe they will make me be better and work harder.

--

--