TEENAGER EAGERLY DEFIES THE ODDS

Shuhrat Kabir glancing outside the window of SCM. Photo by Rochelle Estrada

Sixteen year old Shuhrat Kabir is an incoming junior at John F. Kennedy High School who has defied the odds in what she can or cannot do as a business student.

She has been heavily involved in the robotics club, has spent her summers dedicating herself to performing community service, and shares an interest in the study of Communications and Media.

Kabir may have risen in her extracurricular activities, but the process was not easy.

One of the biggest obstacles that she has experienced is stress.

“Everything is so stressful,” Kabir said. “My schedule is always occupied with different activities. It’s almost hard for me to find time for myself.

Kabir also struggled in finding the right people that believed in her.

“It’s always the people closest to you that hurt you the most,” she said. “Having people abandon me made me feel like I let them down and that I couldn’t fulfill the expectations people had for me.”

This painful feeling made her fearful for her future.

“I felt so broken and alone that it almost made me lose sight on my future,” said Kabir.

Shuhrat Kabir in an informative discussion with Professor Thomas Franklin of MSU. Photo by Rochelle Estrada.

Regardless of it all, what kept Kabir going was her attitude and ambition to move forward. According to Kabir, she asserts that her obstacles do not bring her down but keep her up.

Currently, Kabir continues to aim to be a better person and stand strong past her difficulties. She aims to continue working toward her ambitions of being a positive aspect to the world. She hopes to attend college to get a PhD in business to have her own company.

Kabir also wants to soar above and look down at her obstacles of feeling overwhelmed and face her own personal insecurities.

Shuhrat Kabir poses with Rochelle Estrada inside SCM. Photo by Prof. Thomas Franklin.

“I have a clear vision for who I want to be now,” Kabir said. “And it comes with living in the moment one day at a time.”

--

--

Rochelle Estrada
Montclair State University Summer Journalism Workshop

Rochelle is an ambitious scholar who aims to continue to explore more in the field of Communications and Media.