Lizbeth Coliente wants immigrants to know they’re not alone

Lizbeth Coliente is a daughter of Mexican immigrants. Growing up, she saw and experienced how her parents faced many hardships. She feels the world is a dark place for people with her skin color and language.

“I don’t want to be a statistic, I want to be someone that people look up to,” Lizbeth said.

Lizbeth grew up in what she said is the “interesting town of Passaic”. It is interesting because she says she meet many different types of people there.

One night Lizbeth’s parents came home upset and stressed. They said that the jobs they went looking for, no one would hire them because of where they came from.

Her goal is to advocate for people who grew up with similar problems and let them know they’re not alone. She wants to do this by being a correspondent at the White House in Washington.

--

--

Loverly Merisier
Montclair State University Summer Journalism Workshop

My name is Loverly Merisier and I go to Orange High School. My hobbies are reading and writing. In the future, I want to pursue a career as an author.