Write As Much As You Dance

Dancing with your mind, hand, and body.

17-year-old Nathaly Suquinagua, a rising senior at Memorial High School , has an endless love for dancing that started when she was three years old.

Suquinagua’s mom signed her up for dance classes to keep her active as a child. She wanted her daughter to learn and do things outside of school. Ever since then, she has practiced dance every day.

Nathaly Suquinagua showing off her flexibility. Photo courtesy of Martha Nestor

Luckily for Suquinagua, she attends a dance-specific school that allows her to continue to work on her dancing. Amarily’s Academy of Dance Arts has given her an outlet to showcase her skills.

Born and raised in New Jersey, dance isn’t the only thing this talented girl has done. Suquinagua has done recreational cheerleading and soccer.

However, Suquinagua has chosen to stay committed to the one sport she’s always known: dance.

“I’ve been a dancer my whole life, and it’s a way to express myself,” Suquinagua said. “It’s hard sometimes to do certain dance moves, but in a way [dancing] is just second nature to me.”

But recently the dancer has found a new interest, journalism.

Last year I would watch shows or movies and most of them mention journalism and I didn’t know what it was but it spoke out to me,” Suquinagua said. “When I looked it up it was like a sign to me. I knew it would be something I would be interested in.”

Suquinagua walking around the campus of Montclair State University. Photo courtesy of Martha Nestor.

Being able to write about almost anything and seeing that journalism gives her opportunity to travel around and find different stories, Suquinagua knew this was what she wanted to do. She has even started her own personal blog named Natreadss, where she writes opinion on books.

The dancer and honor student’s biggest challenge is time management. Between school , dancing and writing on her own personal blog she sometimes struggles to make time for herself.

Suquinagua plans to go to college for journalism to study investigative news and dance. However, dancing will always be a part of her life.

“I can’t imagine myself not dancing at all. ”

--

--