“Zuri is SYSSTEM”

--

Zuri Jones is a 17 year old rising fashion designer, from a not-so-easy community in Orange, NJ. Zuri believes that if you set your mind on something you should be able to do anything no matter your circumstances. Zuri sketches out designs for what he’d like on his apparel and takes it to a print making clothes shop. He hopes for his line to expand because he sees fashion for more than what it really is. He takes all these things running through his head and turns it into fashion.

Here’s a snippet of our interview.

Q: What city are you from?

A: Orange.

Q: How is it like living there?

A: It’s um.. It’s tough but not really that tough. Just have to be resilient.

Q: How do you get by?

A: Umm… just focusing on what I have to do, and keeping my goals in mind.

Q: How do you stay away from the violent activities in our community? What do you like to do?

A: Um… I like arts, and I think everybody just has to find their niche in life and what they want to to do or what they like to do. Well, for me film and you know clothes just creating things is what I enjoy. Style is a way to say who you are without having to speak.

--

--