Journaling

I’m a Journal Collector

I never heard of the word “diarist” until today

Evan Hundhausen
TheBaconJournal
Published in
4 min readApr 2, 2021

--

Art by the Author

A diarist is “one who writes a diary,” so I guess this is what I am because I own almost a dozen diaries or journals myself.

The Journal Begins

I started getting journals as presents from my dad a long time ago. Every birthday or Christmas or at random he’d send me one because I’m a writer.

I’ve also collected journals from friends who suddenly wanted to get rid of all their books and I just happened to show up at the right time to swoop them all up! Lots of time these boxes of books would include fancy bound journals they never wrote a word in.

Other People’s Trash

In any Barnes and Noble you can find them, but I’ve found several by the dumpster next to my house.

One was definitely owned by a college student on psychedelic drugs. It’s a small flimsy bound sown book of paper with Ganesh on the cover.

“Ganesh Journal” Photos by Author Writing by Anonymous

Some of them are latched with a button.

--

--