concoction of emotions

Helen T Page
Multi Hyphen Nation
May 13, 2021

I cannot fathom the hate.

What is the impetus?

Is it insecurity or for power?

This is injustice.

The attacks are devastating.

Where is the humanity?

Confused. Disappointed. Anxious.

This is insanity.

Will this continue?

Will our voices be heard?

I fear for the future.

This is absurd.

Questions beget questions.

I ponder the integrity of my country.

Is this not our nation, too?

Opportunity. Liberty. Diversity.

I yearn for peace and compassion,

For respect and understanding.

No hostility. No malevolence.

These emotions are overwhelming.

We need to begin, again–

Need to educate, advocate and maybe even abdicate.

Use the learning to empower one other

To unite, together, to be whole.

⁃ Second generation Asian-American pharmacist in the Silicon Valley bubble

--

--