Privilege

Kate Clemens
Multiculturalism Issues FIG Fall 2017
2 min readSep 11, 2017

Before writing this journal, I brainstormed and thought about the privileges in my life. I compiled a list and it was a lot longer than I thought it would be. It really made me think of little things that have helped propel me into the life that I live now. I think it is easy for to lose sight of all the advantage’s I have, and only focus on what I do not. Things like demographics, traits, and living situation, all can be considered a privilege. I grew up in a suburban area, forty minutes north of Chicago. I was raised in a large home with several siblings. My mom and dad are married and live under the same roof. I grew up never having to worry about a place to sleep or where my next meal was coming from. This reminds me of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs that I studied in high school. It is a pyramid that describes the needs that motivate human behavior. It shows that individuals cannot move steps without achieving the level they are on. The first is the most basic: survival. I grew up with food shelter and safety. That allowed me to reach the next tier which goes on and reached education. I believe the basic privileges in people’s life allow them to continue to grow and have greater and greater advantages. But I also believe that although people may have pre-determined privileges, they still have to work hard in order to utilize them to be beneficial. Being privileged is a gift and you can take that and use it for or against you. I believe in my case I have used my privileges in order to help me but I should still take time to appreciate and reflect on the impact they have made. Besides the basics of living, I was also privileged by the fact that I lived in an urban area with a good education system. I went to private school for 6 years. I was lucky enough to be taught in small classroom setting where I was able to get one on one help. It allowed me to learn at a much faster rate than a normal public school whose student to teacher ratios weren’t as good. This carried over when I went to a public school. I went to a high school that offered many growing opportunities that were easy for me to use. Going to college is also a big privilege in my life. It may be easy to think that my education was given to me, but I worked hard to get into college and figuring out how to pay for it. But I believe I was privileged with just the right tools in order for me to achieve this education. I also think I was privileged in having the trait of self-motivation and dedication. Those abilities are at the core of my success and I deeply appreciate them. Overall, I do have many privileges in my life that I was not aware of but after reflecting I realize how much they have helped me get to where I am at today.

--

--