Privilege Response

Jessica Sobieski
Multiculturalism Issues FIG Fall 2017
2 min readSep 12, 2017

In my life, I experience many examples of privilege. These examples include the town I came from, my parents support, education, and the people around me. I come from a big town outside of Chicago called Naperville. It was rated one of the safest towns and it is the number two best city to live in America. This made me feel like the people around me had good intentions and were overall good people. I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to go to an excellent high school, Naperville Central, and get a good education. The teachers hired at my high school were very supportive and were there to help you succeed. I could also tell that they all loved their jobs which made the environment of my school a friendly place. Also, my parents earned enough money for me to be able to do things such as cheerleading in middle school for a competitive team and high school cheer. Along with this they were able to pay for private cheerleading lessons. Being on the cheerleading team gave me the skills of teamwork, dedication, and confidence. I also gained many friends who were my support system throughout my life. My parents also provided me with some home, food, and clothes to wear for my whole life. Overall, I am privileged enough to have parents like them. Throughout my community we were all offered the same education along with extra help if you needed it. This helped the young adults in my town to get a good education that was needed to get into and go to college. A majority, if not almost everyone, from my high school went off to college or into the military. This shows how many people from my town were raised to have ambitions and were fortunate enough to obtain the goal of further education. Everyone was given the opportunity to join teams and clubs to help them get involved with the school. By having this opportunity, it helped the kids from my school succeed more and gain more life experiences and skills. The consolers at my school also helped me and other students with the process of applying to college and selecting out one. The recourses given to us at my high school was for sure a privilege that many students including myself took advantage of. We were given pamphlets of colleges and had college reps come to our school to give out more information about the college and how to apply. The reason that I am at Mizzou today is because I was fortunate enough to go on a college road trip with my dad and visit many schools. We traveled around the Midwest to multiple schools touring all of them. If I did not have such supportive parents I would probably not be here today. Along with this they saved money up for me to have the option to go to college. This is one of my biggest privileges in life and I am so grateful for it. Overall, I was privileged enough to grow up in such a great town with amazing and supportive people.

--

--