ebandin
Multimedia Narratives
1 min readOct 15, 2015

--

This tutorial video uses the active interview style to create a quick immersive experience. The Nomad Barber as a character has a psuedo-journalistic practice of video cameos for barbers and their styles around the world. It’s interesting to see his take on turning the camera on himself, with dual-screen b-roll/a-roll and relaxed audio.

I’d say that many of the very tight shots were likely taken after the shave, but the editing process makes it seem like it’s all one smooth process. This is also an example of a process story, but with a few interesting ideas about stylistic editing choices to spice up the visuals.

I think active interviews are something I’d like to get better at for future video projects. It’s hard to find a story where someone is in a quiet well-lit space but also active enough to be worth the videography. However, I think if I were to find it I’d be well-served with some active interview practice beforehand.

--

--